Valley Writers was established in 1982, and became a chapter of the Virginia Writers Club in 1991. The state organization has established a set of core values which include enthusiasm, respect, tolerance, and integrity. Strategic goals are to foster literary talent and achievement, maintain efficient operation, build a positive image, and increase membership. The Valley Writers Chapter, with more than 60 members, strives to support local writers of all levels with peer critiques, networking opportunities, and speakers to further their knowledge of the art and craft of writing. Our chapter serves the greater Roanoke Valley. We have writers attending who live in the counties of Roanoke, Bedford, Botetourt, Craig, Montgomery, Franklin, and Pittsylvania, and the cities of Roanoke and Salem.

Valley Writers meets on the first and third Thursdays from 6:30 to 8:30 pm at St. Thomas of Canterbury Episcopal Church, 4910 Hubert, Roaonke, NW. Please contact John Koelsch, president, with any questions.

2016 Valley Writers officers are John Koelsch, president, Robert Habermann, vice president, Richard Raymond, secretary, and Betsy Ashton, treasurer.

In September 2011, Valley Writers welcomed its first subgroup, Lake Writers from Smith Mountain Lake, a group of over 45 writers, 15 of whom regularly attend semi-monthly meetings. Lake Writers began serving the lake community in 2000. Several members attend meetings of both groups. Lake Writers meets on second and fourth Fridays at 10 am. It alternates between the Moneta/Smith Mountain Lake and Westlake libraries. Lake Writers is the literary arm of Smith Mountain Arts Council (SMAC) and is closely affiliated with both library programs. Please contact Chuck Lumpkin, president, with any questions.
© Virginia Writers Club
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software