• Home
  • VWC News
  • Calling All Writers! Submissions for the 2019 Keating Award

Calling All Writers! Submissions for the 2019 Keating Award

12/20/2018 10:23 AM | Leslie Truex (Administrator)

Calling All Writers! Submissions Open January 1, 2019 for Short fiction, Non-fiction, and Poetry

Chesapeake Bay Writers is proud to announce the opening of submissions for the 2019 Keating Award, an annual literature competition in honor of author and renowned scientist Jean Clarke Keating.

Ms. Keating was a true rocket scientist who played a key role in the development of the space program at NASA in the 1950s and 1960s, earning NASA’s Special Service Award in 1968. In 1970 she was named Virginia’s Outstanding Young Woman of the Year, and one of ten Outstanding Women of the Year recognized nationwide. Ms. Keating was also the author of five novels, a popular speaker, columnist, and champion for the creative arts, who served as president of Chesapeake Bay Writers prior to her death in 2013.

The Keating Award honors Jean’s memory by encouraging writers and the art of writing through the recognition of exceptional work by writers across the country. Monetary prizes will be awarded for first, second, and third place entries where merited in the categories of fiction, non-fiction, and poetry. The submissions window is open from January 1 through March 1, 2019. The competition is open to members and non-members from anywhere in the United States, and a small entrance fee will be collected to help further support the work of Chesapeake Bay Writers. For more information, along with complete contest rules and requirements, writers are asked to visit CBW’s website at www.chesapeakebaywriters.org. Questions can be addressed to contest coordinator Ann Eichenmuller at aceichenm@gmail.com.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software